Page Experience Ranking Signal Criteria Changed By Google – Aug 2021 Update

Google is removing Safe Browsing from the standards that websites must meet in order to benefit from the page experience ranking factor.

Due to this change, Google is updating the Search Console page experience report, adopting a simplified design to eliminate redundant data.

Specifically, the safe browsing and ad experience widgets will be removed from the report.

Google provided the reason for this decision in a blog post.

In addition, various repairs are being implemented to improve the way that lost data is handled.

Here you will find more information about all the changes implemented today.

Also read: google link spam update 2021

Safe Browsing Widget Removed

Google is removing the Safe Browsing widget from the page experience report because it is no longer a ranking signal.

This report is designed to help SEOs understand how a website is fighting the signals that make up the ranking factors of the page experience.

It is not necessary to include safe browsing data in the report because it is not used for ranking.

Ad Experience Widget Removed

Google is removing the ad experience widget from Search Console to prevent the same information from appearing in multiple reports.

A separate version of the ad experience report will continue to be available in Search Console to identify ad experiences that violate the Better Ads standards.

Similar to Safe Browsing, the ad experience report is not a factor in the page experience ranking signal.

Additional Improvements

Google is updating the page experience report with various bug fixes and improvements, including:

  • Fixed a bug that caused the report to show “Failing HTTPS” when Core Web Vitals data was missing.
  • Rephrased the empty state text in the Page Experience report and Core Web Vitals report.
  • Added a “No recent data” banner to the Core Web Vitals report and Page Experience report.

We remind you that the Google Page Experience algorithm update has been rolled out on June 15, 2021, and will be rolled out on August 31, 2021.

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: